Trees of Wisconsin

Wisconsin is home to numerous native tree species, both coniferous and deciduous trees, as well as abundant types of shrubs, herbaceous and flora species.

Conifers are soft wood trees who always keep their needles, with the exception of tamarack. They are most commonly known as “evergreens” since they keep their green foliage all year round. Their narrow conical shape, indicative of northern conifers, and downward-drooping limbs help them shed snow.

Those species that lose their leaves seasonally are called deciduous and are commonly referred to as “hardwoods”. When autumn arrives and the days grow shorter, deciduous trees decrease their chlorophyll pigment production. This process brings on the colorful beauty of Fall, changing leaf color to yellows, oranges and reds. The brightest leaf colors are produced when days grow short and nights are cool, but remain above freezing. Our county forests are a great place to experience brilliant Fall colors and search for the different species.
For help in identifying trees and other plants when in the woods, download LeafSnap or Seek.

  • Cedar
  • Fir
  • Hemlock
  • Pine
  • Spruce
  • Tamarack
  • Ash
  • Aspen
  • Basswood
  • Beech
  • Birch
  • Box Elder
  • Butternut
  • Cherry
  • Cottonwood
  • Elm
  • Hackberry
  • Hickory
  • Ironwood
  • Juneberry
  • Locust
  • Maple
  • Oak
  • Plum
  • Walnut
  • Willow